Health Management and Social Care

Health Management and Social Care

Referring to the Health Management and Social Care Course and Assessment Supplementary Guidelines (NSS F.4 to F.6) (2014) set for students with intellectual disabilities, the curriculum is based on the concepts and knowledge learnt by students from different disciplines of the basic education curriculum, such as General Studies, Physical Education, etc. and some extracurricular activities, such as social service groups, uniform groups, etc. These provide more opportunities for students to gain some learning experience on health and social care.


The course includes two categories of learning as health care and social care, five themes in total and is divided into 20 units, including compulsory and elective parts. The compulsory part allows students to understand and experience personal, family, and community-level health, health care and health protection, health promotion and disease prevention, social services, etc., such as: health promotion and modern lifestyle, creating a supportive and caring environment, health and social care volunteers and, services, etc. The elective part focuses on allowing students to apply the knowledge and concepts they have acquired through internship experience for extended learning.


Health Care Category


Theme: Personal development, social care and health at different stages of life

Learning Activities: Practice healthy living habits (for example, daily exercising) and pay attention to personal hygiene (e.g.: washing hands)


Social Care Category

Theme: Local and Global Health and Social Care Scenarios (Contemporary Health and Social Crisis Issues)

Learning Activities: Participate in Elderly Care Activity


Note: The school-based Health Management and Social Care course is under construction.